2009 Les Portes de Bordeaux(2 out of 5)

Standard

Image

Nancy gifted me with this bottle last Sunday. I had an abysmal day, and Nancy told me she had a wine she had purchased at Whole Foods and it was too strong. She had thought it a merlot, which is usually my second born child. When I saw the bottle, I thought “Ooh, A Bordeaux”. Well, unfortunately, that happy sentiment of longing was not around for long.

Among the tasting notes are mentions of grapefruit, cherries, and oak. Right there I should have known I was in for it. I do NOT like wines with grapefruit. I would have expected a white wine if there was grapefruit involved, not a red. So that’s different. I didn’t much taste grapefruit, however, so I can’t take points off there. I didn’t taste cherries at all- more like boysenberry and spoilt ones at that. It was a medium-bodied wine, so oaky it really wasn’t. There wasn’t a great finish and there is a definite aftertaste. I told Dylan the wine could clean all the windows in my house(vinegar and water, the old reliable cleaning solution for everything, et al), that’s how much of an aftertaste it has. I like the label, I like the fact that I had it open for 3 days and it didn’t absolutely disintegrate into simple crap. I used my venturi with this wine, and it helped. But not enough. I let that bottle breathe for almost two hours, and it did nothing to improve the taste.At $4.99 a bottle, it’s not a bad price for a bottle of wine, but you can find better for that price than this Bordeaux. I did notice, however, that as awful as it was day one(that Sunday was awful in general, so no surprise in that the wine wasn’t cooperative), that several days later when I returned to it, it was a little better tasting after it had settled. That’s usually not what happens with red wine, so I gave it a star for improving after the fact. Overall, not horrible, not great, just an indifferent 2 star wine. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

