Old Reliable Sunday—- Blackstone Merlot

Standard

Image Since Sunday is a day of rest, I can think of no better idea for this blog than to showcase a wine that I can always return to, like an old lover, minus the emotional recriminations and weeping platitudes. This will be a weekly feature, so you now know what day to avoid reading the blog! On with this week’s wine.

I discovered Blackstone Merlot in 2009. It was the best of times, it was the worst of times. Charles Dickens would never have said that about 2009, nor Blackstone Merlot. Blackstone Merlot actually sounds like some English parish, doesn’t it?. If those stuffy chaplains were drinking this wine, there would be hijinks afoot at the Circle K! I don’t recall who indoctrinated me, or if it was myself, to be honest. I just remember it was phenomenal.

Blackberry Merlot has a rich, hearty flavor. There are flavors of berry, cherry, and some clove and oak thrown in for good measure. It packs a punch, but not overpowering. Some wines I’ve had the misfortune of tasting are overly oaky, but that is not the case with Blackstone. It has a deep, flavorful taste and is definitely a great match for steak, pot roast, and beef dishes of any kind. Try it with some chocolate fondue and voila!-match made in heaven. I would NOT recommend it for fish, pasta, etc. I think the robust flavors are brought out more easily with heavier meat dishes than with lighter fare.

I will always go back to Blackstone. D bought me a bottle weeks back and I was reminded of how fabulous it is- I think I had it with an Italian Beef sandwich, and it was perfect. I haven’t tried too many other Blackstone varietals, not to say I won’t investigate further, as I really love the merlot. It always has the added bonus of getting you a little raucous, meaning one glass is usually enough to produce some weird chapters for my book, two glasses guarantee a rousing version of “I’d Do Anything For Love(But I won’t Do That) performed for the elderly neighbors, and a bottle- well, let’s just say it’s a great wine! 

Note: Stay away from the 2010 vintage. It does NOT taste of anything but watery vinegar. And take it from me, watery vinegar isn’t delicious. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

