Barefoot Cabernet Sauvignon(4.5 out of 5)

Standard

ImageAh. Another reliable. I can never count Barefoot out. Anyone who’s had the unfortunate luck of dining with me at TGI Friday’s knows I like to get the Barefoot wines. Merlot does something real wacky with my chemistry and I usually don’t feel so great, so I stay away from their Merlot. I do, however, like their Pinot Grigio, their Pinot Noir, and espicially their Cabernet Sauvignon.

Barefoot wines usually retail around the five buck mark; fairly reasonable in today’s sometimes overpriced wine market. After the hell of Monday, I went with F to Walgreen’s and we perused the wines. Barefoot always calls out- not because of the label, mind you. I hate stanky ass feet, and there’s a big ole one on the label. Don’t dig that- but much like my book counterparts say, don’t judge the book by the cover, don’t judge the wine by the label. I’ll bet many people see that stinky foot and walk away. Well, they miss out on a good quality wine for good price.

As it’s become obvious here, I am a huge merlot fan. I also like port, shiraz, heavier reds. I’m not too much of a cab fan. My friend Matt N—he’s the biggest cabernet fan I know. Felicia is another cabernet fan. Barefoot Cab hits just the right spot for me. It’s a light, fruity taste full of blackberry and raspberry with a little vanilla thrown in. It’s darker than the usual cabernet that I frequent(Time-Out and Sutter Home Cab, I’m winking at you, baby). This cab does not have an overpowering bouquet, either. It smells smooth, and it has a smooth finish. Not too strong, not too light. Just right. It goes well with burgers and I’ve enjoyed it with pasta(just this evening, in fact). No aftertaste. So what keeps me from giving it 5 stars? It’s missing something potent- it isn’t much of a buzz wine. Meaning I have, in the past, consumed a lot of it and been pleasantly unbuzzed(unbuzzed? Really couldn’t think of a better word, G?). My hombre Winking Owl Cabernet and the Loathesomely Nicknamed Two Buck Chuck(for the record, no longer $2.00 either) have messed me up worse- and those are two bottles of wine that are $2.69 and @2.99, respectively. I swore to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, and seriously, that’s my only complaint. I drink a whole three glasses and it feels like I’ve drank a pot of coffee instead of being laid back and ready to snooze or watch a regrettable movie like Red Sonja. That’s my only issue here. If you are looking for just the wine to serve with burgers and just have a great tasting experience, this is it. It won’t mess your shit up, it won’t make you take off your bra on Lagrange Road(that’s another blog entry), but it will taste fantastic and not overdo it with the palette. 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

