2011 Cupcake Chianti(5 out of 5)

Standard

Holy hell- a new favorite. After reviewing the sublime Cupcake Red Velvet a couple of weeks ago, I was not planning on having Cupcake for awhile. Until last night. Felicia spotted a Cupcake Chianti and I had to try it. I am SO glad she spotted it. 

This Cupcake Chianti is a very smooth chianti. I have had chianti that would fry your eyebrows off(usually courtesy of Dylan and Lucca’s in Lagrange). This is not the case with this stellar vino. Orgasm in a glass? Oh yes. Oh yes.(you can play a soundtrack in your head along with those declarations). Dark plum, cherry, and blackberry meet up with a hint of cocoa- holy hell, it is a delicious coupling! I had some this evening with my homemade split pea soup, baked potatoes, and salad- and as unlikely as that pairing sounds, imagine throwing a chianti into the mix, and having it work. I almost feel like this is the SuperWine and could go with any pairing. If I had a delicious gluten-free pizza right now, this would work with it. If I had a pot of turkey chili(hello Nathan Fillion!), this would work with it. If I had a grilled cheese(oh my sexy grilled cheese, how I miss thee!), this would work. It’s like the appetizer, entree, and dessert all in one. 

Upon opening and letting it breathe, I took a second sniff. It didn’t greet me as a vinegary mess(like several recent entries have), but rather, a pleasant aroma of cherry. Not a super pronounced aroma, just very slight and yet still very attractive to the senses. I had my first glass, and I had to sit and savor it. I am back for another dance with Mr. Chianti tonight. I am still enjoying the tango, my friends. 

Simply put, the best chianti I’ve had since my go-to, which is the 2007 Chianti Classico Riserva. It prices reasonably, around $10.99 a bottle, if you’re lucky you catch it on sale for around $8.99 a pop(Cupcake is almost always on sale, try Walgreen’s or Dominick’s/Safeway for your best deals on a regular basis). If you want a reasonable chianti  for a once-in-a-while gig, this is the one. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

