Beaulieu Vineyards 2009 Red Blend(5 out of 5)

Standard

Image Holy Mother of Toast, what a great wine this is. Dylan got me a bottle after I had a bad Sunday and a Monday morning filled with urine jugs thrown at me, among other fun things. I had this vineyard once many years ago when the Mehczaja brought a bottle over and Erin and I demolished a good portion of the bottle. I believe that was a cab. Whatever it was, it messed me up right and royal. Those days were filled with wine just to have something alcoholic flowing through my veins. These days, I savor the wine. And write about it. Handily and badly. Worship at the altar of this wine, it is fabulous. Also fabulous enough for me to advise you NOT to drink it if you’re obsessed with a certain TV show and drink it during that show, when any second an unwelcome(yeah right) shirtless scene could cause you to kick over this excellent wine onto your beige carpet. I do NOT advise that being cool(or in my case, a clumsy klutz). 

This wine is a combo of zinfandel, merlot, Petite Sirah, and something indefinable(meaning a grape I have not yet danced with). It tastes of blueberry, blackberry, and raspberry. Berries abound! It has a rich taste, but not overly oaky, not overly strong. It’s a solid red blend filled with just the right amount of sweetness. Upon opening, it has such a pleasant bouquet, it’s hard to find any fault with it. It’s superb. Definitely another fantastic blend that I cannot wait to drink again soon. I had it with peppercorn pork tenderloin, and it was the perfect combination! It likely would also pair well with steak, lamb, and other pork dishes. I do think if you paired it with fish, it would be a tremendous waste of a great wine. Definitely rich enough in flavor that it needs a hearty meat dish beside it to let it flourish. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

