Apothic Red Winemaker’s Blend 2009 (4 out of 5)

Standard

ImageHow did Apothic Red drift into my universe? Originially, on my 38th birthday. Shannon and Cheryl had taken me to an expensive seafood place for my birthday(The Reel Club–OakBrook, I think?). Cheryl’s gift to me was a bottle of Apothic Red. We hadn’t drank much at the restaurant because the gift card basically only covered the quite expensive seafood dishes, so there wasn’t a normal amount of drinking going on. The second they dropped me off at home, the bottle was opened. Love at first smell. Love at first taste. Once I opened it to breathe(although, in those days, there wasn’t a lot of that, it was open and down the hatch almost immediately), I was greeted with a smell of rhubarb and black cherry. I wasn’t a big fan of rhubarb, as it brought back memories of my mom beating my ass when I ripped it off the vines growing in the backyard of the Hill Street house . Throw it with black cherry, and hints of mocha and vanilla(slight those are, but you taste it in the overall dryness of the wine.) and I have a newfound appreciation for it. It didn’t taste as good eating it raw from the vine, but it shouldn’t! In a blend like this, a whole different story emerges. 

This isn’t a light and fruity blend like some I have reviewed lately. It is a heartier wine, it’s got more of a velvet finish and therefore you will likely have a glass and go “Whoa”. or in my case, have a second glass. I was reintroduced to it Monday. Monday was a weird day and I was facing a visitation with the alien orb of skank, not to mention Castle Monday, so I needed wine. Felicia, as usual, asked if I wanted her to go to Brookhaven and rustle up some wine. I told her to surprise me, and she called and mentioned Apothic. I had a brief flashback to that 38th birthday night drinking the bottle, and I told her go for it. I had 2 glasses during Castle(should have only been one, but damn that man in camoflauge!), and now I’m having a glass to try to relax after a craptastic day. And review it properly. It still holds up splendidly. I would recommend pairing it with pizza, actually. And also pork. I think it would work really well with peppercorn pork tenderloin, flourless chocolate cake(thanks Dylan), or steak milanesa. Do not go the hamburger, BBQ ribs, or straight up steak with this one. 

I love the label- it is definitely in my Top 10 wine labels list. Yes, there will be a blog posting. That might even be tomorrow, come to think of it. It’s gorgeous. Almost as good as the wine. I couldn’t do 5 stars only because it’s not hearty enough to mess my shit up. Seriously, it’s a delicious wine to be savored, but it won’t get me drunk. It might relax me(I definitely need that today), but it won’t make me stupid drunk. It also has a slightly bitter aftertaste, despite drinking a lot of water with it and after finishing it. I’m not a fan of wine with aftertastes, so that took off another half a point. Overall, though, an excellent wine. I highly recommend it. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

