Door Peninsula Chocolate Cherry(3 out of 5)

Standard

Well, this was a gift from J that was obtained on a Door County trip last year. Apparently my friend became a wine-appreciator on this trip. Not sure if they’re a wine lover yet, but they definitely dig it more than they used to. I’m not big on dessert wine, and from it being chocolate cherry, you would think that means it’s a dessert wine. Not so much. It is sweet, yes. In fact the label says it is a 5 on a sweetness scale in which 5 is the sweetest. I do not think this is the sweetest wine I’ve had- that designation would be to the Halloween wine that                 Dylan had me try last fall. Which I also liked, but that was so sweet I think I only finished one  glass. Again, Dylan would have to confirm that. It made me loopy, though. This is designated as a sipping wine. Not sure what that means as I have never sipped a wine in my life. Don’t think I’m about to start now, either. I’m also, remember, not a fan of chocolate and fruit together in solid form-ie candy, etc. In liquid form? I can much easier adjust to that. The wine does have a great taste to it, however. I do really dig it. The only problem is I’m not a huge fan of sweet wine. I’ve had other Wisconsin wine- courtesy of Dylan, Lillian, and Erin. 

Overall, the taste is very smooth- as if you had a chocolate cherry milkshake with alcohol added. No aftertaste, but there is a LOT of chocolate flavor. It almost overpowers the cherry wine, but again, loving chocolate, I haven’t really got complaints with it. The label is nice, mellow, makes you want to visit Door County. For a “sipping wine”, not bad at all. Just not my usual, but again, I like to mix it up and this was a good start. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

