2009 Kendall-Jackson Summation(5 out of 5)

Standard

ImageThis was the mother of all discoveries. Dylan was absolutely determined to make up to me that a couple of the reds he recommended were not impressive(to me, at least), and so he brought over several new bottles. One of them- the infamous Dreaming Tree, produced not much of a fairytale. Happily, that was not the case with Mr. Kendall-Jackson.

It’s all in the name of the wine. Summation. Like- seduction. That’s what this is- seduction in a glass. Minus the bullshit that would normally go with seduction. Unless you have way too much of this beauty, and then, and only then, could it turn ugly. In my case, one glass is all it took for me to be telling Dylan that my nipples were shooting coffee(obviously untrue, gross, and I was drunk, foo- on one glass, true).

Kendall-Jackson is a well respected name in the wine business, and it’s not hard to see why. The label is simple, straightforward, and so is the taste. Your first smell of the bouquet literally takes your breath away. It reminded me of dark roast coffee(no surprise then, that there are notes of coffee present in the overall blend). The blend is hearty, but without being too much. No nasty aftertaste here. Yes, summation is a blend- it’s zinfadel(43%), syrah(24%), merlot(21%), grenache, petit sarah(5%, both) of many of my favorites, and a few that I haven’t drank in years(hello, my long-ago lover grenache, you are far better represented here than in that crappy Yellowtail shiraz-grenache I tried and failed at drinking years back). It is so smooth and full of flavor, that I feel it would compliment any dish. Tonight I paired one glass with tuna salad and an organic black bean burrito- and voila! perfect. I would NOT pair it with seafood, because seafood is such a light dish, and this wine is so well-rounded that it would completely take away from your dinner. I am now finishing that same glass two hours later by itself, and it’s perfect. No grimacing when drinking this. I raved about the Beaulieu Vineyards Red Wine Blend that D got me two months back- this sucker wipes the floor with it. Definitely my favorite red from the Dr. Of Wine, Mr Dylan. 

I tell you to walk, run, buy a case- as soon as you can! How much do I like this wine? I DON’T CHILL IT. And I chill ALL wine. Somehow, I have the feeling that if I chilled this wine, I would be seriously taking away from its allure. Run out and invest in a bottle of this wine, it is kick ass!

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

