2011 Apothic Rose (3.5 out of 5) Take 2

Standard

ImageHappy Cinco De Mayo! Dylan and I had our new annual Cinco de Mayo/MayDay Appreciation gathering this week. By that, I mean a little bit of an excuse to have a small banquet of wines, cheeses, and my favorite eat all the time gluten-free items- tacos! We only ended up cracking open this fine wine- The 2011 Apothic Rose, the lighter cousin to the infamous harlot Apothic Red(see my earlier review for idol worship status of that wine). I’m not, as I have said, huge on the lighter wines. This one was a winner.

The smell of it- there isn’t a huge impact on olfactory perception(sense of smell, in less scientific lingo). It’s just there. A lot of the wines that I have tried and reviewed here have been a knockout from the minute the cork was popped. There was such a presence when that cork was unleashed, that you knew the wine was going to have a presence. This wine is just there- no real distinguishing characteristics. It’s a light flavor, at least in my opinion. Dylan thought it a tad acidic, I think it’s just right. I also like the fact that it’s not super duper sweet. I have had some zins that were straight up out of a sugar mill, thankfully, not the case here. I taste in this wine a great little blend of strawberry and watermelon. Watermelon in wine? Is a win! Strawberry WITH watermelon? Double win. The taste is incredibly smooth and mellow. It did loosen me up a bit, meaning, as Dylan phrased it “got the keys to your vocabulary and opened the door.” I guess I was talking more sensibly, or at least with more of a writer’s vocabulary. No clue, it’s Dylan- the statement, like the dude, remains a mystery. There is not a lingering aftertaste. It’s not like a liquid Jolly Rancher, which is what I feared after Dylan read the label to me. Another thing: The label. It’s fabulous. I think we can call this one a safe bet for a light lunch- on in our case, a small feast of cheeses and tacos. It’s a “veranda” wine. If you’re confused, you should be. It’s a term that Dylan and I coined when discussing sitting out on a porch drinking peach tree in Savannah, Georgia. On a veranda. This is a wine that would not be out of place. It’s not too strong, it’s not too sweet, it’s just right.

I almost forgot to add what we were pairing this with- in terms of cheeses. We had the following to try with it:

Manchego, Merlot Bellavitano, Apple Smoked Gruyere, Ichigo, and Asiago with Rosemary and Olive Oil. The one-in my opinion-that beat the hell out of all others with this wine was the Apple Smoked Gruyere.  I also thought the Merlot Bellavitano was great with it. The other cheeses did not taste right with it. Although the Manchego was pretty good with it as well, I think Manchego goes better with the super sweet wines- and this is not super sweet. I think this wine would pair well with grilled chicken dishes and pork dishes.

Overall, I liked it. I wish it had been a little bit stronger of a presence at the smelling booth, and also in the tasting notes. I would state that it’s light, almost so much so that it’s not really there, but it chimes in at the end and gets you.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

