2012 Fat Black Cat Mountain Cabernet Sauvignon(4 out of 5)

Standard

Image This is not the correct image for the year of wine I bought. It’s a cooler label than this one. Anyhow, I’m not sure where else this wine is available, or it’s exclusively a Trader Joe’s carried wine.(I almost said title. I think I need to get my head off the bookshelf while I’m writing). 

I let this sucker breathe for a good hour and half. The other wine blogs I read, most people say this wine should be left to sit on a shelf for years, and then opened. They clearly don’t know my enthusiasm for a new wine. They also don’t know that I live in a small space and don’t have oodles of room to store wines(I wish, I wish.). Anyhow, this was a pretty good buy. I would definitely buy it again. What does it taste like? Vanilla and some stank blackberries. Stank blackberries? Oh yes. It means they’ve been left out to sit in the sun for way too long and that’s the way the wine tastes. It actually doesn’t taste as bad as that description, I’m just having a hard time describing blackberries in this vintage. The vanilla helps, and it has quite an oaky flavor going to it, so that brings it to a better standing in the taste department. I enjoyed the first glass, but I think the second was far, far better. It’s definitely a wine that could use to be exposed to air. The longer I let it go, the better the flavor of the wine.

Added bonus? It will get you a bit loopy. I paired it with salad and salmon. Don’t do that. this definitely belongs with some headier fare- steak comes to mind. Also- pasta would probably go real well with this wine. I would definitely advise if you’re pairing this with cheese, take my and J’s word for it and pair it with edam and gouda. It was delicious with both.(Tuesday Night Wine and Cheese Club, my new past-time). Highly recommended. I just don’t think it had the gold star dynasty to rule the wine kingdom with a 5. I do, however, recommend it also with pomegranate blueberry sherbet, also purchased from Trader Joe’s. it really livened that up!

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

