2011 LaGranja Tempranillo(-1 out of 5)

Standard

Image

Another Trader Joe’s pick. I think I went with this one because I liked the pig on the label(it reminded me of bacon). Unfortunately, the pig on the label did not yield the delights that a pound of bacon would yield. This makes Two-Buck Chuck(technically now 3 buck Chuck) taste like Champagna. This is worse, in my opinion, than Tres Buck Chuck. 

I gave it a single star because it actually took on some life when consumed with my dinner of last evening- the erstwhile delicious Trader Jose’s Pizza Al Pollo Asado. In English- pizza on corn crust. Ingredients are grilled chicken breast, refried beans, pepperjack cheese, tomatillo salsa, and jalepeno. In other words- spicy and delicious. When I had a piece of the pie and drank the wine, I notice it radically improved. I would have to blame the pizza for livening up the swill that is this wine. I had a glass this evening with my lime grilled chicken and oh boy, it does suck. The wine, not the chicken- that’s delicious. Even a small slice of my friend,the flourless chocolate cake, couldn’t save this wine! 

I do still like the label- even though, like Barone’s and the Bucket of Chicken, it is a lie. If you pair this wine with a semi-spicy dish(or pizza), it does take on life. Otherwise, the “enchanting berries” are about as enchanting as drinking a tub of Elmer’s Glue(in fact, there is a glue-taste to the wine, come to think of it). The label says it works with barbecue roasted meat, grilled vegetables, and cheese. Did the cheese test- Fail. Ate grilled veggies- FAIL. I’m not roasting any poor animal and slathering it in BBQ to waste to try to bring life back to this wine. I’ll do that on its own!

I would avoid this wine at all costs- unless you are pairing it with Indian food or the previously mentioned divine TJ’s pizza. I would use it to strip paint off your neighbor’s Mazda for fun, or better yet, give a bottle of it to someone who won’t shut the fuck up about Tchaikovsky or believes themselves to be the next coming of Hugh Hefner, minus the intellect. I wouldn’t even give rotten Ex #2 a bottle of it, and that fucker would drink anything that resembled booze. Avoid. Avoid. Avoid. Like the Noid- avoid. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

