2010 Montes Classic Series Cabernet Sauvignon(5 out of 5)

Standard

ImageThis win- like Friday- was divine. Felicia and I were looking for sparkling water(I know, a likely excuse!) and of course ended up in the wine aisle. She liked this label because it has what she perceives to be a weeping angel, which is of course, a Dr. Who reference. I said it reminded me of the video for U2’s Faraway, So Close(one of my favorite U2 songs of all time). That was enough to convince us that this was the wine I was going to try and review.

This is a Chilean wine- Lillian B. will be proud that I am continuing to drink Chilean wine like she told me to! I hadn’t heard of Montes before, but I will hunt some more down after this. This wine is SUBLIME. And by that, not the 90’s band(ugh). When you uncork and get your first smell, you can almost smell the blackberries in the garden, it’s that much of a knockout aroma right off the bat. There are notes of chocolate, vanilla, and a little bit of coffee also- but the ripe fruits take the stage here and we should all bow in appreciation. I let it breathe for a hour, then tried a glass. I decided to play gluten-and-wine detective(next book title right there) and mix the wine with various things. First up, with the gluten free cheese pizza. Not so shabby. It really didn’t take off until I had a glass with the rosemary and olive oil asiago cheese—PAIR THIS with cheese! But the all time winner was the flourless chocolate cake and dark chocolate gelato. THAT really paired well. But saying that lends people to think that I’m saying it’s a dessert wine..Not at all! It’s a wonderful wine. The taste is superb. There’s no aftertaste, no strong finish, it’s smooth all the way from start to finish. I even drank it warm, and I don’t EVER drink red wine warm. EVER. This one, I did. And I’m glad I did!

Overall, outstanding wine. I was worried it was going to mess my shit up with a 14% alcohol, but no dice. I had two glasses and I was fine. It has phenomenal taste, but if you’re looking for a “lights out” wine, this isn’t it. This is a splendid wine in every other fashion! I highly recommend it with anything, but espicially cheese and flourless chocolate cake. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

