Winking Owl Merlot(4 out of 5)

Standard

Image This week I’m going to review a whole bunch of wines from one label. This idea comes to the blog courtesy of Dylan. Thank you, Dylan, for giving me new ideas on how to keep some blogs churning out while I figure out what wines to try next. 

Winking Owl is a brand that is carried exclusively at Aldi. They have a few wines, to my knowledge- merlot, cabernet, shiraz, chardonnay. If there are others, they are not carried at my local Aldi. So wine followers- if there ARE indeed others, let me know, please, so I can have them tracked down.

The Winking Owl Merlot is a sly little owl. Check out the label. I personally like the label way too much. He looks like a shyster owl- up to no good. So naturally, you believe the wine inside that bottle carrying that label will be good stuff. Considering it retails for $2.69(less than Tres buck chuck, friends), you aren’t expecting a first class wine. It’s not too shabby for $2.69. Of all of them, I think the merlot is my favorite of all of the ones that are currently available.

This merlot is headier, like most merlots, fare and you are treated to a nice tasting mix of black cherry, blueberries, and blackberries. There’s a hint of spice, but not what you would normally get in a higher price merlot. It’s not real oaky, and has a smooth flow to it. No aftertaste that I noticed. I have had this wine with numerous dishes throughout the years. It worked best with burgers and pasta. How is it compared to our buddy low-cost wines? Well, I liked it more than Tres Buck Chuck Merlot, I loved it more than Quail Oak, and it’s better than the Three Wishes Merlot. Of the Winking Owls I’ve had, I enjoyed this one the best. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

2 responses »

  1. The winking owl is the sh^t! It tastes 90% as a $15 wine at 20% the cost. Aldi reminds me so much of the ‘Frugal Hoosier’ from the tv show ‘The Middle’ but for $2.89 you can’t beat it. Just try it and see, hell, it’s 3 bucks 😀

Leave a Reply

