2010 Colby Red- Red Wine Blend(4 out of 5)

Standard

Image Today was the first day in a week that I felt like having a glass or two of wine. I told Felicia I finally felt up to having some vino again(a nasty cold got in the way of that for the past week). When returning from the ever exciting bank run, we stopped in Walgreen’s and we perused the bottles of vino as usual. I like Walgreen’s simply because it’s NOT a wine merchant, nor is it a big box liquor store(ala Binny’s). I have discovered some really good wine at Walgreen’s that I haven’t seen many other places(not just the exclusive-to-Walgreens ones, either). Today was no exception.

I think the thing that attracted Felicia’s attention to this bottle was the label- it looks a heck of a lot like the Apothic Red label. A lot. I had never heard of Colby Red either, so I am always ready to try a new wine. And it’s a blend- my favorite thing to try in the wine arena. I read the label, and had to do some Googling to get the story. Because this wine has a story behind it. And quite an inspiring one, at that. 

Colby Rex Groom was 9 years old when he underwent back-to-back open heart surgeries. He told his father his desire to help others with heart disease research and funds, and it led Daryl, his winemaker father, to decide to create a blend devoted entirely to raising money for heart research. Colby helped his father with this, and every bottle sold supports charities that promote heart health and research. That’s the Groom family you see in the picture above, for the record. What a splendid idea. Colby is a brave young man, and kudos to him and his father for taking several thunderclouds and finding silver linings in them. I wholeheartedly support this wine and it’s mission, and I will recommend it to many. I encourage you to try it, and if you like it(as I did), recommend it to as many as possible. 

When you first open the bottle, you are greeted with a lovely bouquet. It smells like a heady merlot- but let me tell you, the longer it breathes, the better the fragrance of the wine. It didn’t change the overall taste being awesome, but it certainly did smell a lot more fragrant after a hour and 20 minutes of letting it breathe. 

The wine itself is a nice blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Zinfadel, Shiraz, Merlot, and Petite Syrah. In other words, heaven in a glass. It’s got great flavor without any long-term aftertaste. You can swirl and spit to your heart’s desire, the consistency of the wine doesn’t  change or decrease at all. If anything, the fact that one glass was open to air for over a hour and it tasted the same as when I poured it, is great. It means evenness to the wine, and it doesn’t get stale. Or taste like it belongs on salt and vinegar chips. i like a wine that stays consistent all the way through. I also like a wine that goes down smooth, and doesn’t have a super flashy, over-the-top taste to it. This didn’t have a lot of spice to it, nor kick. It was just a pleasant, even-keeled wine. I truly love blends like that. Not too much pop and no  show. There’s pop, there’s show, and there’s lights, cameras, action. This wine was perfect for my gluten-free Mexican casserole dinner. It blended perfectly with all of the corn, chiles, enchilada sauce, and black beans. I am in heaven tonight. I think Mexican food might be one of the best matches for this wine. For some reason, I think if I had chocolate mousse nearby, that would also be a great match. 

Pay no mind, find the bottle, buy the wine. It’s not only delicious, it’s for a good cause. Colby will love you for it, and so will your heart. 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

