2011 Pure Estate Anthropology Shiraz(5 out of 5)

Standard

Image Thursday finally brought a day off. I turned off my phone- just because it’s been a long couple of weeks and I needed to be left to just be. Interestingly enough, I’m less stressed after doing so. Thursday evening found the doorbell ringing. I really thought it was the garbage dudes protesting the amount of garbage that I was getting rid of. No, it was Felicia- with wine. Silence from me apparently worries people, so she came to visit. This is a love letter to Cumulus winery, who make this excellent wine. And of course, to Felicia for bringing it by for me to try. She tried it a while ago and loved it, so figured it was time for me to try it. 

The label is bare bones- just bold faced font. The back of the label promises that it’s a rich wine full of plum, mocha, and spice. They weren’t kidding! It smells strong right off the bat, but it’s a pleasant aroma coming out of the bottle at first uncorking. It’s a smooth wine, but make sure you have a lot of water or water-based beverages nearby to wet your whistle after you’re done having some of this wine. It is a very, very dry wine. It’s also got amazing flavor and it’s incredibly- what was the word? Bombastic. No, wait, that was the Rolling Stones version of “Like a Rolling Stone” that was playing when I tried a glass. It’s incredibly hearty and heady and not at all a disappointment. I have said often that I am always seeking drier, heartier fare with the vino. This is a great example. Shiraz is a favorite I indulge in every once in a while. My other favorite shiraz is Jacob’s Creek. I’m sure that Kendall Jackson’s probably would make me take off my bra in the road, but I haven’t tried it yet, so I can’t comment on it. This is no doubt my favorite shiraz so far. 

It really does have a good flavor overall, but you really don’t taste a lot of the mocha overtones- it’s definitely spicy and has a lot of plum flavor though. One glass was enough to make me completely goofy, so it passed the Buzz Test. There’s no aftertaste. I had a baked potato, and it paired alright- have a feeling if I had some spaghetti Milanese it would have been a different story. Had some bellavitano cheese with it, and that was fantastic. But what paired even better with that one glass? Two pieces of Trader Joe’s dark chocolate/caramel/sea salt bar. THAT was pure orgasmic joy. So pair it with fantastic chocolate, if the mood strikes(and oh boy, it does). 

Definitely something I will recommend to friends who are craving a spicier red. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

