2010 Estancia Pinot Noir(3 out of 5)

Standard

ImageThis has always been one of my sister’s favorite pinot noirs. In fact, it probably is her favorite. I cannot say it is mine. Dylan mentioned weeks back that it was on sale at Target- I thought he said $9.99 which is a steal. So I asked him to pick one up. He came back and said nope, it was $11.99 instead. I would have asked him to get a whole new wine if I knew that I was not going to be as thrilled with it. I seriously have to say in the pinot G-stakes that Yellow Tail and Jacob’s Creek win the pinot noir contest. 

Estancia is well-known to me, mostly through my sister. I remember years back being real thrilled with the smooth taste and the buzz that went along with it. I also realize now that a lot of that buzz was because in those days, I barely ate. I drank, but didn’t eat enough, so sure as hell, that buzz went a lot further. Not the case in these days of eating loads of salad and actual food. Now I just don’t feel the buzz as I used to. Estancia is still a smooth, fulfilling tasting wine, but it’s lacking the pop, bop, doo wop that I enjoy with my wines these days.

Upon opening, you get quite a noseful of the pinot. You are pretty sure you’re in for some wild swishing with this wine. You could swish, but the flavor you are swallowing does not go long for the finish line. It’s just ok. It’s not stellar, as I recall. What I recall, as I said already, was a buzz based on hardly eating anything. In my beginning days of drinking vino, I was definitely guilty of a lot of eating little, drinking much. I’m the complete opposite now, so I can honestly say I’m a lot more reliable on these matters than I used to be. 

The taste? Overall, a smooth, medium-bodied wine with black cherry and vanilla flavors taking the leads. You taste a little plum, but nothing to sling rocks at passerby’s over. It’s a sublime taste overall, and no bitter aftertaste. It’s just not as fantastic as I once recall, I think once I had that Antropology wine I was ruined for winekind(?). So- if you like a medium bodied, even rounded red, this is the one to go for. You won’t be disappointed, but you won’t be doing the lambada on the beach with a Ryan Reynolds lookalike, either. You’ve been warned. Risotto and pasta, yes. Ryan Reynolds, no. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

