Ecco Domani Pinot Grigio(3 out of 5)

Standard

ImageOK. I’m not on a quest to find a great Pino Grigio. I haven’t yet found one. Actually, if memory serves correctly, on a particularly rough TGI Friday’s outing of many drinks and many wings years ago, I think I found my soul mate Pinot Grigio in Chateau St. Michelle. I believe that, as most white wine evenings, was Dylan’s fault. Thank you for that, Dylan. However, Ecco Domani was a vineyard I was familiar with- I am soul mates with their Merlot. The Pinot, not so much.

I like all of Ecco Domani’s labels. Very metrosexual, very geometric, very much out of Duran Duran’s Is There Something I Should Know video(the shapes in the background of the video are what I’m referring to. Only a Duranie would know). When you pop the cork on this one, well, you got light and crispy right off the cork. 45 minutes later, you’re treated to a nice bit of tropicalia. What you’re not treated to is a bunch of drunken swine singing their bad karaoke version of “Kokomo.” Thankfully- it might ruin the wine! 

You have light notes of fruit and it’s moderately crisp. I taste some melon, some apple, maybe a little bit of pear. Happily, no grapefruit notes that I could detect at that time. It’s crispness almost distracts from the wine. It’s a nice wine. I would have to put this one with some broiled fish and lemon juice and lamb(shudder). I don’t think it would work well with anything else, not even my all-present spinach salad. It would work well with LifeSaver Gummies also, but that’s another blog posting(Wine and Candy- Why Not? is the working title). Thankfully, it didn’t sour my stomach more than the baseball games I was going back and forth between(Cubs and Sox, both lost abysmally, thanks for asking). It is a good candidate for a veranda wine, but I’ll have to further try and discuss with Dylan, since he is co-arbiter of the Veranda Wine Nights. 

What to say? I like this wine, but I don’t love it. I think they’ve got a punchier white waiting for me, and I just haven’t discovered it yet. Ecco’s merlot, as I mentioned earlier, is fantastic and I would gladly drink loads of that while watching the Blackhawks beat the Bruins, but the pinot, is too light. In all good conscience, I can only award it 3 because it didn’t do a whole lot for me. It’s still better than some other pinot grigios I’ve had, but it’s just okay. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

