Rosemount Estates 2011 Shiraz(5 out of 5)

Standard

ImageWell, I haven’t had Rosemount Estates since the days of drinking with the Skooze in Willowbrook. I now see it’s been way too long! Dylan to the rescue! Since I’ve been dreaming of shiraz lately(and sangiovese, much be the summer of S), he found this on clearance at Target and picked it up. Upon uncorking the beast, there was NO smell at all. None. I waited a while and picked up a faint fragrance, but nothing to write Martha Stewart about. After 30 minutes of letting it breathe, it was time to try this. I believe I had the Cabernet or Merlot back in the days of wine and skeezers, so it’s good to try another blend.

It’s a beautiful garnet color. It tastes of cherry and vanilla, and it’s not overpowering, more like a creamy taste– imagine that choco-vino(chocolate wine) wine, minus the chocolate taste, and you have this. Incredibly smooth. Also incredibly effective- one glass and I was Wonk! Wonk!(no idea what that word means.). It has a little spice to it also, which only complimented the flavor of the wine. We should have tried it with turkey burgers, but I don’t think we had much besides several cheeses with it- the mild Dubliner Dylan got, the parmesan with peppercorns that I had. That peppercorn kicked well wit this shiraz, no shit. I have a hunch that the infamous Palmer Place flourless chocolate cake with raspberry sauce would pair incredibly well with this wine. 

It is a delicious, smooth wine. It’s not too much, but oh yes, one glass will produce a buzz. Or in my case, complete forgetfulness about whatever the hell you were talking about before the wine kicked in. There’s no bitterness and while it has a short finish, the taste of the wine stays on your tongue for a good while after you have polished it off. 

Highly, highly recommend this for shiraz. I also like Jacob’s Creek, but this one blows that mother away. If you want a good, daily shiraz, I would recommend this. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

