Naked Grape Cabernet Sauvignon (2 out of 5)

Standard

                                                 Image

 

I had hoped for better news here. I liked the name of the wine while staring at the wine aisle in Target for the better part of 5 minutes. My rationale? If it’s a great grape (aka wine), someone will end up naked. The only thing that ended up naked was my disappointement in the wine. 

I let that sucker breathe for a good hour. I aerated it. It didn’t do much, unfortunately. This wine has an alright color. I taste plum, black cherries,  and some blackberries but not much of a presence overall. It’s a medium bodied wine. My primary problem isn’t the overall taste, it’s simply alright. There isn’t anything spectacular or mind-bending about this. It’s just there. There’s a bit of a zing-like aftertaste too, which is never a good sign. It’s a bit acrid. 

I paired it with an organic black bean burrito and salad greens, hoping for the best. Instead I got a mouthful of ick. The wine did not pair well with this. I have paired other reds with the Amy’s Organic Black Bean burrito, and never a problem- until now. I blame the wine. The burrito is faultless. 

The wine retails for $7.00 a bottle. It was between this and my beloved Yellow Tail Pinot Noir. I should have stuck to Old Reliable instead of this. And that was a dollar cheaper. I always want to try new wines, but this one stinks. I might let Matt Foo try it to see his thoughts. Maybe it is just me this time. 

I like the label, and it isn’t a bad stand alone wine. It just tastes strange with food, which kind of defeats the purpose, at least for me. It’s the strange vinegary aftertaste that sucks the vin out of this vintage. I would advise to try another cabernet. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

