Sainte-Croix Syrah-Merlot (3 out of 5)

Standard

                                  Image

This is another Trader Joe’s discovery. I do like this, but only chilled. I popped the cork on this one and had a glass when it was warm; not good. It doesn’t taste very memorable when warm. I highly recommend chilling it- I did for 2 days and then dove in, and then, and only then, was it worth digging into. I seriously told D it was not great. It wasn’t a good wine discovery day for either of us.

This is 50% Syrah, 50% Merlot. Ordinarily, a combination that would lead me into the pastures of joy. Again, something is off with this blend. Or maybe something is off with the vineyard doing the varietal. Either way, something is off. Unless you chill the bitch. Then, like Marla Maples, it works. 

It’s a wine produced in the SOF (South of France, for those not familiar with the abbreviation or the Duran Duran song PLU). This is a darkly colored wine that shows its syrah colors right there. It’s not a light wine, it’s a heady combination, and one whiff of the bouquet after you open it up indicates that. After a hour, it’s still kicking fragrant ass. Bouquet notes are plum, chocolate, and you smell a wee bit strawberry. Taste wise you’re looking at (or tasting, rather) berries, cranberry, and chocolate. A highly unusual flavor palette here. I like it chilled because you taste more of these flavors. When I drank it warm, I had nothing. Hence, the review had to wait. And then I have had to wait out the fun dental issues, so no drinking has been it. Tonight I ventured a glass, and what a pleasant difference it is chilled than it was warm on the day it was purchased. The tannins are firm and balanced, and there’s no backing off of this wine. It is potent, but it is delicious and totally worth it.

I’m pretty certain the only place you will find this doozy is at Trader Joe’s. It retails for $4.99, so it’s a steal of a deal for a wine that has some potency. The only reason I’m not giving it 5 stars is because as much as I enjoyed it, I have to be able to enjoy it warm or chilled, and I’ve only enjoyed the flavor of this wine when it was chilled. Whilst warm, it was suckus (don’t look, the word doesn’t exist). Also, it’s got some serious aftertaste sambaing down the road. I had to rinse with mouthwash to get that stank ass aftertaste to completely leave my mouth. No thank you. I will pass. Besides that, no complaints, it’s a pretty nice strength for wine that is under 5 bucks. Not easy to find it so easily and enjoy it so cheap these days (not meant to sound wrong, but it’s me, so, well, it does.) 

 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

