La Granja 2012 Gamacha/ Syrah (4 out of 5)

Standard

                                                                     Image

 

I had tried the La Granja Tempranillo a few months back, and I was mighty unimpressed. This wine from La Granja fares much better. It’s a blend, 50% granacha, 50% syrah. As mentioned before, I think this is a Trader Joe’s exclusive. I was gifted with a bottle tonight after a fruitful day of job hunting and nothing else getting done. I am now sitting down at 9pm, exhausted, and having not had wine in over a week, it’s time for a glass, some blogs, and a book. Tomorrow, the insane asylum ride begins anew, kids. Tonight, I drink some wine and blog.

Of course that damned label has your attention right off the bat. It made me want, well, not chicken or eggs, as one would think, but tacos. So I went and got some Taco Bell tacos. And would you believe it went perfectly? It did. Anyway, i would say have some of this wine with a taco. And go the hell to bed. Alone. By Yourself. Without a problematic other by your side. Bitterness does not make for good reviews, wine blog children.

Down to the nitty gritty. This is a very dark red wine. It has an earthy air about it once you’ve uncorked it and let it air out for a while. It almost smells like a merlot, it’s that earthy. The moment you smell it, you know you’re in for a good wine. It’s a medium bodied wine without the insult of dirt-like gristle taste. It tastes like prime raspberry once you drink it in. Raspberries are what I can pick out of it, also has some other flavors of berries in there, as well as some slight pepper flavor and some slight licorice tang to it. There isn’t much of an aftertaste, which is nice. Given the pepper that seems to be floating around pretty prominently in there, you would think that it would kick your ass with the after effects. Happily,  that’s not the case. I know there’s more in there that I cannot identify, but overall, it’s a pretty delicious buy for your buck. And it goes well with tacos, which is a primary in the G Food Group. 

It goes for around $4.99 and can be found at your local Trader Joe’s. There’s a good chance that it’s hiding on shelves elsewhere, but I’ve seen the rooster crowing mightily on the shelf at TJ’s. This blend definitely beats the feathers off of the tempranillo from La Granja, but now I want to go through and try the other varieties. This one definitely was worth the wait. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

