Vista Point Merlot

Standard

                                                                           Image

 

I tried a glass of this wine with D at The Wolf’s Head Inn one day a couple of months back. I just remember it messed my shit up. I must have mentioned it a bit recently, as it popped in my head and I had mentioned it to several of my friends, who are out looking for it. They don’t have it anyplace I’ve gone within a five mile radius from my house. Yesterday definitely sucked and I made that pretty clear to almost all of my friends who I spoke with. When I got up this morning, I had a bottle of it sitting on the chair on my deck. Thank you, mysterious benefactor, for bringing me the wine. It’s 2:24pm and I am enjoying a glass with my turkey burger and tuna salad. 

Well, it’s definitely not a Class A wine. It’s probably more of a C- wine. When i had it at the inn, it was a day when I didn’t eat much, and if I recall, scarfed the wine down. Hence the lasting first impression of “awesome.” I did enjoy it. However, having a quiet kitchen and having let it breathe and aerated it, I have a whole different impression. Not a better one, I’m afraid.

This is a deep colored red, which has a flat, monosyllabic smell to it once you open it up and let it breathe. I gave it a hour. It tastes like burnt raspberries, nuts, perhaps some vanilla? It tastes like burning, which is an odd thing for a wine to taste like. Maybe some candied nuts roasted on an open fire? If so, Santa needs to chug this bitch at Christmas. It would definitely make one warm, because, well, it tastes like burning. 

This wine definitely does improve chilled. When we got it at the Inn, I remember telling D that I was pleased that it was cold. I didn’t have this wine cold(that’ll give you an idea how out of it I am) and it definitely lost something in the translation. Serving it cold makes it taste less like burnt offerings and serving it warm brings out the burnt taste more. It’s very odd. I do like it, but not as a serious contender for wine of the year. I still like Winking Owl Merlot better than this. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

