2012 Violescent Montepulciano (3 out of 5)

Standard

                                                Image

 

Well, the wino hasn’t had a drink in over two weeks until this wine showed up. I had the mother of all shitty weeks, so I decided to pick up a cheap ass bottle at the mother of all cheap ass stores, Aldi. I know, with my track record with Aldi wines, I keep trying to not drink those wines…and yet here is another I tried. It wasn’t too shabby. 

I liked the label. I liked the fact that I have no fucking clue of this vintage, hadn’t heard of Montepulciano at all until I ran into it in a red wine blend that D and I got at Trader Joe’s two months back. It’s hard to tell how good or repugnant it may be when it’s part of a blend. Now, on its own, you realize just how strong of a grape it is. It is, make no mistake. 

Not a lot of fruit flavor here, this is straight up strong. I let it aerate for almost two hours, and it did not diminish the strength of the wine. Bouquet is that strong also- it’s one of those wines where you smell it and you make the old pruneface (if you have no idea what that is, think of Jessica Lange’s face nowadays). Of course, it went back into the fridge to be chilled and I tried a glass. Yikes! is the best answer I have. It is still a strong wine. 

I do taste a lot of spice, black currant, and maybe rhubarb. It is definitely overshadowed by the spice in this wine. There are a lot of pepper notes going forward in this glass. Overall, it goes down smooth and aftertaste is somewhat bitter, but not so much to ruin the wine. I had one glass Saturday night and I was giggly like a old maid chasing Arnold Schwarzenegger. So I definitely award it points for making me loopy. Although it wasn’t a pleasant flavor overall, it was still not the worst wine I’ve had from Aldi. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

