Chariot Gypsy Red Wine Blend (4 out of 5)

Standard

                                           Image

 

The coffee party would not have complete without some sort of wine. It’s me, after all! There was coffee, pastries, cheese, and wine. I combined a coffee party with a wine and cheese party. And yes, Virginia, it went well. I picked any ole wine. Jen helped me. The label caught both of our attentions, so this is the one I bought. And yes, it was delicious. Not a five star wine, but it didn’t miss by much.

This beaut was obtained at my favorite place on the planet, Trader Joe’s. As I stated before, quite a label to grab the eye. The fragrance when I opened this sucker, was sublime. It had a heady bouquet, but it also had some bite to it. There wasn’t a lot of fruit in the aroma, but there was some spices detected. It was love at first taste. This red blend is a mix of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Sirah, Zinfadel, and my all-time secret mistress, Sangiovese. Anything that has Sangiovese in it is going to be a favorite of mine. However, with the exception of the Trentatre, the last few blends I got at TJ’s haven’t exactly rocked my world. This one definitely changed that.

There is a lot of jammy flavor going on, but throw in some cassis and some cocoa, and you have a win. Definitely packed a wallop with that 13.5% alcohol content, but it had some major flavor going on. No vinegar aftertaste, and it was absolutely delicious with not only the cheeses, but with the pastries we had. With coffee? Regular coffee, oh yes. With the coffee oddities that we had to try? Probably not so much. However, the guests abandoned the coffees for the wine, which means it was a hit. There was giggling, there was sarcasm, there was mundo appreciation of this wine, and with good reason.

I think if you were to want to pair this with something, it would have to be with a steak or a burger. I think it would also top off BBQ ribs, pulled pork, or meatloaf well. I would highly recommend this as a table wine for a nice meal. It retails for $4.99 at Trader Joe’s, and it tastes like a more expensive bottle of wine. Definitely worth it. 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

