Rosso Grande Alberone Red Wine (4 out of 5)

Standard

                            Image

 

This was a nice surprise. I had to get wine for the holidays for dinner guests (my sister brought the old Reliable, Barefoot Merlot, but I wanted something different). This retailed for $8.99 and was purchased at Whole Foods with the help of Jen, my friend who hardly ever drinks. I think she’s going to have to buy wine with me more often if I find winners like this. In typical fashion, we were looking at all the wines and discussing Sting and why he’s still around (why he hasn’t opened a tantric yoga studio on the Nile or something..). I told her that I was trying to think of a Police song that didn’t drive me fucking nuts when I hear it and her answer was (no surprise here) “Roxanne.” I cringed and told her she ruined that song for me for life (truth) and she said “Message in A Bottle.” At the same time I was ready to protest that choice, we both spotted the bottle and said “This is a bottle that would have a message in it.” It was as if Mr Yoga Penis himself was there and approved our choice of this wine, so we got it. It was definitely a win. I have also spotted this wine at Walmart and Aldi in the past week, so thinking it may be a new hit. It certainly was a hit with myself and my guests. 

There is a very strong fragrance from this wine when opened and aerated (for a hour). After one hour, it still had a strong fragrance going to it. The color is darkest magenta and the taste is ripe, rich cherry, blackberries, and raisin. I haven’t tasted raisin in wine in a long time, but the combination here really worked to the positive column. I paired it with turkey, and it didn’t shine. However, I made a pot of gluten-free pasta on NYE and had a glass, and then, oh boy, you really could taste the true colors of the wine. It has a wonderful rich taste to it, very full bodied, but not at all a vinegarish aftertaste at all. There is a hint of an aftertaste, but overall, holy crap, it’s a delicious wine, even after you’ve had it exposed to air for awhile. I had some tonight with some dark chocolate mints, and I thought I died and had an orgasm. Truly fabulous. 

Grande Alberone carries a 14.5 alcohol content, and holy crap, do you feel it quick. I had a good amount of food in my gullet before I drank this wine twice, and it still packs quite a wallop. A tasty, satisfying wallop. I can’t say too much how much i enjoyed this wine, and I encourage you to find a bottle and give it a shot. It is truly divine. 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

