Pop Crush (4 out of 5)

Standard

Image

Why is it so hard to find a good image for this wine? It’s deserving of more than this little Jpeg image. I found this when Holly and I were at Target bra shopping (I know, details). I was a little stunned that the 49ers were not winning the game this past Sunday, so I decided to pick up a bottle of wine. This one not only got my attention because of the bright weirdly colored, psychedelically attempted label, but because it had a blurb on the shelf saying it was Tyler Florence approved. Any wine that passes muster with a chef usually has some chops to it. That was indeed the case with Pop Crush.

When I uncorked it, wow, what a fragrance it had. It was full-on heady delight. After it was exposed to air for a hour and half, the smell had significantly declined, meaning just that it wasn’t full-court press, but rather, a nice floral aroma. When I finally had a glass, wow. I had to stop and have another sip. It is delicious. It is incredibly tasty, with a bouquet of cherries, raspberries, and a little bit of caramel. Caramel. First time I’ve run into that in a wine, and I hope I run into it again sometime soon. The taste did not diminish, in fact, it got more delicious as I drank the glass.

The only downside to this wine is that I had to cork it and not drink the whole bottle. Four days later, I had a glass. Whoa. Whole different wine after it was re-corked. It lost a lot of the oomph that I experienced having that unforgettable glass on Sunday night. I’ve had many great wines that maintained their tastes after being corked and drank several days later; this was not the case here. In fact, it seemed to have bottomed out. Those fruits that were pleasantly popping days ago suddenly turned into a dull, flat attempt at a rose’ or a Lambrusco. I would have likened it to a stronger Lambrusco (hello, 13.9% alcohol content on this baby), but it lost it after sitting there in its natural element for several days. All of the reviews I had read were complaining of the same thing, so not quite sure how to advise one, except it’s delicious if you drink it all the first night. That’s not something I really want to advocate, but going from delicious to deadsy days later, is also disappointing for a wine lover, so I’ll leave that decision on your doorsteps.

This retails for $10.99 normally, but it was on sale at Target (is, actually, until Feb 1) for $7.99. Your label instructs you to pair it with meats and pork. I would say BBQ anything, or in my case, grilled chicken breast worked well with it. I had some dark chocolate too, and that really went well with the wine- before. If I had dark chocolate with the wine- after a few days of rest- it likely would not have garned the same praise. I was disappointed that it didn’t retain that fruity, delicious flavor it had the first night it was opened, but there are more wines to be tried and savored. Overall, I give this 4 stars because it was really a pleasant surprise, I just wish it had stayed around past the first act.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

3 responses »

  1. This is my fav right now! Next time put it in the fridge!. On your next pour, let it come to room temp-then enjoy all over again!

  2. Discovered this wine on a special introductory promotion at my local wine/spirits store back in January, and was hooked. I enjoy the fruitiness that lingers in the front of the mouth, followed by the high alcohol content induced hint of dryness that follows in the back of the mouth. It is a lot of fun, and am looking forward to enjoying it when summer’s porch sitting season begins.

Leave a Reply

