Middle Sister Wild One Malbec (3 out of 5)

Standard

Image

This was a nice little surprise. I found it at Target- D and I had looked at it thousands of times but something about the word sister in the title killed it for me. (not sure why, maybe family doesn’t belong in wine, rather the wine belongs in the family?). Sunday night while prepping for Chi-Chill 2014 Part 2, I spotted it again. It was also on sale, which usually seals the deal. I liked the jauntiness in the label character’s walk, plus she looked hellbent on ignoring the siblings and getting smashed. That sold it for me a second time. Bear in mind, I headed over to Target because Aldi would not sell me a pink moscato at 11:58am. The cashier also would not let me wait a minute and half to ring it up. Rules are rules, but she was snarky, and she denied me the wine, so she can go saw a log in the forest with that Bigfoot they found.

Anyhow, this little wine is a 13.5alcohol content, so be careful guzzling freely. The mood I was in, the more potent, the better, so I got, what I believe, is a newer bottle. I love Malbec anyway, but once in a while, I really yearn for the spicier red wines, so this was perfect in every sense. Except it didn’t completely win me over. The fragrance when uncorked was a bit strong, but nowhere near as strong as the wine once I let it breathe for a hour and then aerated it. Holy hell, that sucker is strong. I had one glass, I felt a whirling dervish of heat envelop my entire being, and I felt really lightheaded- in my world these days, that means it messed me up a bit. That’s good, that means I don’t have to drink another glass. I stopped at one. Last night, after the day of all eternal annoyance and subarctic wind chills, I had another glass. Holy crap! It was more potent after being chilled a day Potency- 9+ kids Beware the alcohol content.

Taste itself? Pretty nice. I have had better Malbecs, but this one is a nice surprise. There is a lot of blackberry flavor in this wine, and since I love blackberries, there was love at first taste. It’s heavy on the spice, there are a lot of black pepper notes throughout. I keep thinking there are other fruit flavors in there, but the blackberry overload kind of kills the overall flavor of the wine. There may be some plum in there, but it is so hard to tell here. It’s like peppered blackberry wine, which is alright, but when I hear Malbec, I expect a few different fruits in there, and that’s not the case here. It’s very blackberry. If you had a crow in the neighborhood, you would be all set. I took some points off for lack of variety in the varietal.

Tannins are even balanced, not much going here. It’s a nice finish, but doesn’t linger very long. That makes me happy and sad at the same time. When you’re eating gluten-free pasta to make your calorie intake for the day, this is the perfect wine to drink with it. However, the blackberry jungle took something away from the pasta. I think this wine would pair better with any kind of BBQ meat. I can’t wait to try it again soon. If you wanted a spicy wine for BBQ, this is a good one to start with. It usually retails for $11.99 and Target had it for $7.99, so it was a steal. And I did enjoye it, just hoped for a little more variety to swish around ye palette.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

