Barefoot Sweet Red (3 out of 5)

Standard

8

 

I’m not a fan of sweet reds, as you all know. I have, however, due to my issues with the gallbladder, laid off the wine big time this summer. I’m now expanding the rule book and trying more whites and some lighter reds, some moscatos, some champagna, etc. I have had some real good experiences, and I’ve had some real crap. Happily, this wine was a pleasant sipping experience.

Barefoot is a favorite of mine. It’s a wine that’s easy to find anywhere, it’s economically feasible, they have it as the go-to wine at most of the restaurants and the one bar I do frequent, and best of all, it does give me a good buzz while maintaining flavor and lack of nasty aftertaste. The tannins are not on overload, and you can sit and appreciate a good glass of pretty much any Barefoot wine you try. I winced at first, with the “sweet” word turning the old wine snob on full tilt. Then I told myself to shut the hell up and bought it. I was not disappointed.

First of all, it’s not very sweet- at all! There’s a light sweet factor here; on a scale of 1 being nothing and 10 being sugar on a Holly candy scale (my coworker who ovedoses on sugar on a daily basis), I’d say it’s a 4. Really not at all sweet, which I love. It’s a pleasant tasting experience; the bouquet was lovely fruit the moment  you opened it. I let it breathe for a hour, and it still smelled as nice as it had when I opened it. For the record, that does not happen often with a red wine. The taste is very light and a nice blend of raspberry, pomegranate, and cherry. Not too much, not nearly enough, but perfect for the 9.5% alcohol content. The label tells you to pair this with BBQ. I haven’t even had a darn barbecue yet this year, but I drank this with my sundried tomato basil brats, and it was perfect. I would recommend it with grilled or pan-fried sausages, definitely.

This bottle retails for $4.99 at Target, where they have a shit ton of Barefoot on sale for most of the summer. If you want a good red wine that isn’t too strong and is good for light dining, this one is it.

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

