Moiselle Crisp White Wine (2 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

This is precisely the kind of wine I would liked to have tried, in say, June. It’s now August, the hazy, lazy dog days of summer are upon us, and there’s nothing my drinking demon wants more than some delicious, ice cold gluten free beer. Yes, gluten free beer. Not usually the stuff dreams are made of, and never mine…but lately, there’s nothing I would rather try more than some of that deliciousness. Wine has not been in my veins in awhile. However, this suddenly appeared last week, and since it was on sale and featured, and I wanted something light, I tried it.

What did I love? The bottle. I loved the other Moiselle’s I have tried. I’m not usually a fan of white, because the evil known as chardonnay is often lurking, and there’s nothing I would rather not be doing than puking up whatever wine I am supposed to be enjoying. This was not a bad blend, it’s just too damn sweet for my liking. And there’s a large amount of what tastes like apricot. There’s nothing I hate as much as apricot. I think due to the lemony, sunshine glow of the bottle, I was hoping for some sort of lemony wine. No dice, twice. There’s a lot of some undefined citrus that smacked of grapefruit, which is another enemy of mine, and perhaps some mango liquor. All in all, as I said, I’ve had worse. I tasted a good deal of apple, which, when chilled, actually overtook some of the weird citrus flavors and balanced out this weirdness a bit more. It’s still too sweet. My fucking teeth were killing me for hours after I had that one glass. One glass.

I would say if you dig Riesling, this is your new best friend. At $3.99 a bottle, even more so. I suspect D will be the one who inherits what’s left of this bottle. If you like sweet wine, you’re in for a treat. If you don’t like sweet, you’re in for defeat. I have had worse, but I’ve also had far, far better. Retails at Aldi normally for $4.99, but retailing for $3.99 at present. It is an Aldi exclusive, so if you don’t frequent Aldi, you’re out of luck. Or in this case, you find a better white.

 

 

 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

