Burlwood Cellars Merlot (1out of 5)

Standard

untitled

The Burlwood Binge continues! Just kidding, I have NO intention on binging on these wines- at least, not all of them. I am gun shy with the cab after drinking this. As said last night, I like the pinot noir a lot. The merlot does not please any sense, my fellow winos. I got this because I figured if I try one I should try the other. Merlot is usually my first or second choice, so it made sense to try this next. Glad I didn’t reverse the two, or I might not have even tried the pinot and missed out on a very good wine. This merlot, unfortunately, not very good.

This wine has predominant tasting notes of plum (although it tastes more like prune, in my opinion), chocolate, a little vanilla, a little bit of cherry, and some very strong essence of vinegar. Yes, vinegar. Which is what happens often when your wine has gone bad. I know this isn’t a bad bottle, for the manager was unloading a whole new case of it from which he nicely offered me a bottle (if I knew it tasted like this, I would have handed it back to him and chose a different wine). It has a VERY strong odor wafting from it, even after letting it air out a hour. It tastes like the strong odor smells- and that gives you a fair idea. Ever wonder how that tankard of ale tastes after you leave it out for ten hours under the beach umbrella on the moat? This would be your answer! I do like the price- $4.99. I do like the alcohol content of 13.0%, but what’s the use of a strong alcohol content when the wine itself is so gross you may not finish it all? Not worthy of the applause you may give it.

I paired it with gluten-free pepperoni pizza, and even that couldn’t save it. The delicious basil and pesto on the gluten free bread knots? Couldn’t save it. Nothing could save it. It’s just nasty, and not in the Janet Jackson way. I would advise you to steer clear of this Burlwood Cellars wine; stick with the pinot or try the cabernet.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

