Menage A Trois Midnight (5 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

I just had to use that image. If the name of the wine isn’t enough to get your dirty minds jigging in the aisles, I don’t know what will. This wine comes courtesy of D, who saw it and decided I needed a new wine to light my fire. Congratulations, my friend, you have succeeded! This sucker is out of this world. If the Meritage is Mariah Carey, the Bogle is Whitney Houston, then this wine is Aretha! Queen of dark, forbidden wines that make your heart sing, your lips thirst for more, your head ache more in the morning, yes, people, this is it. It’s probably my new favorite red of the year, hands down.

This blend is a mix of four heavyweight grapes; Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Petite Sirah, and Petit Verdot. I can’t give you exact percentages, but the merlot is very present, so I’d guess that’s the majority of the blend. When you uncork and get your first whiff of the wine, you know you’re in for a good time. It’s full frontal lobe sensory advisory- once you smell that fragrance, it stays in your nostrils for quite awhile. I’m pretty sure I told D a few times that I could still smell the wine- and it was on the other side of the kitchen airing out, so that will give you an idea. The flavors are amazing- blackberry, plum, mocha, and spice add to the allure. The taste is velvet gold; it’s smooth, but it also packs one hell of a wallop on the tongue, so watch out. It definitely cleared out my nasal cavity! The label is all elegance and dark mystery; how can you go wrong having a sip of the forbidden elixir? The only way you could go wrong is to NOT try this wine. It is magnificent. It retails for $12.99 normally, but it’s been popping up on sale all over the place. I had the wine with ham; probably not the best idea; as I told D, it’s the kind of wine that you use to accompany a 3 course steak dinner, pot roast, rump roast, any roast, for that matter. Or 90% super dark chocolate. This would pair excellently with that.  No matter what you pair it with, or if you just have a glass after a super stressful day, you can’t go wrong with this wine.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

