2012 Dancing Flame Red Blend (4 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

Ignore the bottle on the left. It’s crappy white wine, and I really don’t want any part of it for this post. (Don’t be offended, my white wine squirrels, I’m sure I’ll review a new one soon. Just not by this winery). I picked this up at Aldi the other day while ruminating on why this week was so fucking strange. It did not give me any answers, but I drank one glass out of it and it was spectacular. Therefore, unlike most of Aldi’s wine spinoffs (NOT the Winking Owl, that’s not bad at all), I am highly recommending this one. It’s on sale now for $4.99, but it’s a temporary carry, so not sure how long it will be there. You might want to pick a few up and throw them in your wine cabinet for later consumption. But- only if you like them! If not, move on. Too many wines and not nearly enough time.

This one packs a 13% alcohol level, but you wouldn’t know it, because unlike the one reviewed last week, it didn’t taste strongly of bitter aftertaste, tobacco, and vinegar. It tastes lightly and heartily of fruit. The blend itself is 70% Cabernet, 15% Carmenere (I have not tried that varietal yet, but it’s now on my list!), and 15% Syrah. I’ve had trouble with Syrah’s before, but I think when it’s with the right grapes combined, it doesn’t make much of an impact. That’s definitely the case with this. You have flavors of blackberry and cherry with some mild hints of spice and mocha. Anywhere that you have a combination of spice and mocha with those flavors, well, wow, it’s really delicious. The only problem with this wine is that it’s almost too light and doesn’t pack a wallop. Once in a while, you want a wine that delivers. I had this with pasta, and it was a good match, but I almost wished I had paired it with something different, like a hamburger because it would have carried that well. With pasta? It was almost too light and didn’t work well with Bolognese sauce. I know for next time, worry not! If you paired it with chocolate mousse for dessert, you would have a winning combination. Try and try again. Again, a great little pick-up at your local Aldi; it’s an exclusive so you won’t find it elsewhere. Enjoy!

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

