2014 Pampa Estate Malbec (3 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

This one started harmlessly enough. I went to get healthy food- fruits, vegetables, salmon for dinner- and I saw this bottle. I saw the barrels and had “Oh, Susanna” in my head (no idea why!). Since I seem to have weird nursery rhymes and childhood hymns in my head whenever I go grocery shopping lately (blame the diet; I am), I took it as a sign to get the wine and try it. I found it at Aldi; however, Prestige in Countryside has it as well. It’s currently priced at $4.99 retail, and it’s their “Wine of The Week”. Truth be told, I also got it for immature reasons. I looked real quick and thought the name of the wine was “PIMPA”. You know, like

imagesJC46D9AQ

Childish… I know. Anyway, this is an Argentinian wine with 13% alcohol. I wish I had read that part of the label sooner before I began drinking it in earnest last night. I had a ton of things to do, but it all kind of went south, in lieu of great conversation and great music. So….I had a bit more of this Malbec than I had intended to, but it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I still managed to get my ass out of bed at 6:30am and go to the gym, although the less said about the spectacle I made of myself there, the better we’ll all be! This Malbec is dry, but it’s not so bad that you need a gallon water carafe at the ready next to you. I’ve had some Malbecs where they were so dry that I immediately stopped drinking and gave the bottle to whomever I was drinking with; not the case here. It was a pleasant departure from the normal sustenance of a Malbec. It’s an incredibly spicy little wine, however. There is a lot of spice in this Malbec, but also a good equal amount of plums, cherries and raspberries. I was a glass and half in and I was feeling it! Buzz Central, my friends. This shit will get you buzzed…beware. It was so good, though, that I kept drinking….and then started the beginnings of the headache. Headaches and I are not good friends; but if I’m having a wine-over, I prefer a headache over becoming intimate acquaintances with the porcelain god. Then I sat up for another hour and half, just thinking. 2am, here I am. So….

Overall, I did like this wine much more than I planned on. Usually, when I pick up a cheap wine like this, it ends badly. Meaning it tastes like apple cider vinegar and glue. I can happily say that wasn’t the case here. I just can’t give it 4 or 5 stars because it’s just missing something. The taste isn’t bitter, the tannins aren’t too strong, and as I said, a steal for the price, but it’s not in the list of the best ones I’ve had. I would recommend it if you are in for a cheap, quick buzz (this whole review sounds wrong!) and some nice, hearty fruit overtones, but it’s not a stellar cellar pick.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

