Albero Spanish Red Wine (2014 Monastrell)…. (2 out of 5)

Standard

images

Oh, this was a misstep. Nicole accompanied me to Trader Joe’s on Sunday after the calamity known as work. Usually, I get awesome wines. I was so out of sorts from the oddness of the day that my wine radar must have been switched to Radius Zero. Sadly, this bottle of wine was NOT a joy to drink. So much that I may try to foist it upon the lovely Nicole, for I have no desire to finish drinking it. Sadly.

I have never heard of Albero wines until I saw several- I got the red wine blend, because I enjoy blends a lot. This one starts with a nice dark cherry red color, and has strong tasting notes of blackberry, blueberry, grape jam, and a whole lot of spice. The nose on this bottle when it was aerated for awhile? Was a dark, somewhat musty odor, which didn’t lend much in the way of excitement toward the eventual drinking of the wine. Sort of like opening that closet in your house that had mold growing in it for years? That’s what I was reminded of when I tried to get a sense of fragrance with this vintage. The wine itself is a pretty smooth texture and makes for a pleasurable drinking experience, but the problem is that the fruits and overall aviance of the wine come off as bitter and musty, not fruity and delightfully airy. There’s a ton of serious complexity with all of those flavors intermingling, but the long term problem is that it adds up to a big bust. I had one glass and swigged with mineral water and Sierra Mist for a long while after I was finished- I could not get the bitter, acrid taste out of my mouth. Blech!

This bottle retails for $6.99; as do all of the Albero wines that Trader Joe’s carries. In that line, also available are a White Wine Blend, Rose, and Tempranillo. Hopefully your experience with this Spanish Red Wine Blend or any of their other blends is not similar to my experience with this wine. I would pass on it and head off to another region.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

