2011 Louis M. Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon (5 out of 5)

Standard

Louis%20m%20martini%20sonoma%20cab-500x500

Heidi, my best friend, gave me this one on Friday. The law firm she works for gave her a bottle as a gift, and since she doesn’t drink, she bequeathed it to me. Thank you, Heidi! I told her right away that this was not some cheap ass bottle of wine you buy at Aldi or even clearance at your neighborhood liquor dive. Louis M. Martini has a great reputation for fine wines, and this is no exception.

A beautiful burgundy color, this wine wastes no time in making its flavor fully aware to the drinker. A blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Petite Syrah and Petite Verdot, it establishes a heartier fare with lingering notes of black cherry,blackberry, and cedar and oak notes on the finish. There is no finer wine to pair with a steak. In this case, a small sirloin with garlic mashed potatoes paired beautifully. This is a multi-player wine. Meaning that you can also pair it well with dark chocolate covered strawberries or fruit of your choice, and to hell with the main course. It boasts a 14.4% ABV, which means it’s a take-no-prisoners wine. Indeed. Not a lot of foreplay before the main event begins with this wine. If you’re a fan of fruiter reds, you may want to shop a different vintage and blend. This is a hearty, somewhat dry, and slightly bitter at the finish, so it’s not a wine that you would enjoy if you normally dig rose’ or pinot noir. Cabernet Sauvignon isn’t typically a wine that I would categorize as “means business”, but there are the few that can and do really knock you on your ass if you’re not ready for it. This is one of those wines. Retail value? Normally around $35, for those who keep track of such things. Overall, not a lot of anything bad to report on this one. No doubt that it’s now got a top 5 standing in my cabernet sauvignon rankings. Which reminds me- coming up by the end of the week- my top 10 Cabernet Sauvignons. This is firmly in place in the top 5. Definitely worth the price of admission.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

4 responses »

  1. Good afternoon. I really enjoy your blog, and I like to try the wines you describe. I looked for the Martini Sonoma County Cabernet, and I found one at Total Wines, but for $14, not $35. Even the Martini Alexander Valley Cab was only $25. Am I looking at the right wine?

    • Hi Randy!
      I’m glad you enjoy the blog.. I’m still a novice learning my way, so it’s nice to hear feedback.
      I have a wine database into which I plug the name and the year of the wine, and that generates an estimated retail value. That’s what I used in this review…. however, I’m sure it’s not infallible, and thus, the Sonoma may be a better value than I blogged about. I got this as a gift, so I have no personal info on price. Get it! If you found it at $14, you have a steal, my friend! Enjoy! It is awesome.

Leave a Reply

