Yellow Tail Shiraz-Cabernet (1 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

Look at that bottle closely. Remember it. And run in the other direction if you see it on sale, or worse yet, on clearance in the liquor bin. My friend F got me a bottle of this, because CVS had a HUGE wine sale going on. Well, F, I think I know why. This stuff is NOT good. The only thing it had going for it is that the bottle is very distinguishable, and the aroma of the wine once you uncork it, is pretty promising. Then you let the fucker aerate for a hour and drink a glass, and then, and then….

It gets ugly, friends. Yellow Tail and I are not real close friends anyway. Everytime I have tried a wine by them, I end up getting either violently ill or the headache of death. This time? I got the headache of death, and I only had one glass. I could not stomach a second glass. My friend had a glass with me and had the same opinion. My friend John has his own damn wine cellar and knows his wine. I originally asked him to write a guest post for this, but he doesn’t like writing pieces of any kind, so here I am… giving this a huge thumbs down. So far, the only Yellow Tail that I have enjoyed majorly was the Pinot Noir and The Big, Bold Red which I have a hard time finding (regrettably, because those two save Yellow Tail for me). After a hour of airing out, you’re treated to what smells like rubbing alcohol. It did NOT smell that way when first uncorked; at that time, it smelled promising, strongly of ripe fruits like blackberry and black currant. After a hour, I swear you could find that smell in my bathroom medicine cabinet! Not good. The first pour I encountered brought a very, very sweet taste of berry, spice, and what tasted like oak notes. Not abnormal in a wine at all, but the overpowering smell of the wine, coupled with the fact that it was ridiculously sweet, killed a lot of my enthusiasm for it. I could taste a little bit of what also seemed like sour, tart apples. No thanks, I’ll take a pass. There is a super dry finish to this wine. I went through half a gallon of water after ONE GLASS. That’s kind of extreme. I would expect that from whiskey or scotch, not wine. You’re promised a hint of mint (give me a Tic Tac!), plum, cassis, etc. I didn’t taste those flavors as much as the black currant and the berries, although I kept having flashbacks of The Seven Tales (Grimm’s Fairy Tales, for those unaware) while drinking it. Nothing could save this wine. 14.0% can’t save it. “Pair with a good pasta and conversation”. Well, John’s a good conversationalist, so that works. There was pasta, but it didn’t taste good with rubbing alcohol. I would advise you to steer clear from this one. EEK.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

