Candle Magic Cabernet Sauvignon (5 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

D found this bottle at Target- it’s a wine he’s only seen around the fall/Halloween time. Why he nor I haven’t tried it sooner I cannot answer. But I’m glad he brought it over to help me along with my Social Media Blackout week… I guess he figured the loss of the appendages known as Facebook and Twitter would result in extreme boredom or anxiety over not being able to read a newsfeed full of bad news and bad puns. Happily, that hasn’t been the case yet. But I DID need some delicious wine to celebrate the season premiere of one of the few television shows I watch- Castle. So I popped that sucker open, let it breathe, and had a glass. Holy hell! I felt in love. Deep, deep abiding passion for this cabernet.

I don’t know much about Candle Magic Vineyards. The label tells me that 25% of the proceeds from their wine sales go toward scholarships for women. It’s predominantly a wine that helps women! The vineyard itself is owned and operated by women, according to their website. I couldn’t be more fucking pleased at this! Anyway, this bottle is a 2012, but it matters not, for the quality of this cab is superb. It aired out for a hour, and then I dove right in. Right off the bat, the nose has a long finish and smells of delicious, ripe fruit. The tasting notes are cherry, blueberry, and cocoa. I haven’t had a wine that had predominant blueberry notes in a long while- until this gem. I can’t tell you how delicious this wine is; if you like cabernet, get this. It just moved to the top of my cabernet list. And yes, that one small glass packed a punch, weighing in at a robust 13.8% alcohol content. Go get this wine! Not only is it out of this world delicious, but the proceeds go toward scholarships for women. Win, win. This bottle was purchased at Target, where it retails for around $12. Well worth it!

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

