Crispin Cider: Pacific Pear (5 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

Well, day one of Social Media Blackout 2015 was Sunday. Mourning the loss of the Bears and still trying to figure out why people like David Tennant more than Matt Smith, I decided to go get groceries (multi-vitamins with more punch for Dad, as well) with D. That’s when we found the Chariot Gypsy red blend I reviewed last night. We hit Target for a few items that TJ’s didn’t have, and walked past the cooler. Something about the packaging for this cider caught his eye. I had heard about this from my friend Vega Nova, who is always, like D, on the lookout for gluten-free drinking options for me (Thank you both, as always!). Here it was! Maybe my Target has had it for awhile, but I wouldn’t know- it’s all the way on the top shelf of the refrigerated beers and wines, so I normally don’t go that high up! (Laugh, bitches, I’m 4’10”!). I told him Vega had given it good reviews, so we picked it up. I finally had one tonight when I got home from more HR stuff for a potential new job, and it is OUT OF THIS WORLD.

First thing first, this is gluten-free. Drink up, celiacs and gluten intolerant homies! I also like it a hell of a lot more than the Angry Orchard Ginger Apple cider that I was drinking for about three months straight last year. It has more distinctive flavor and it’s a lot less bitter. The Angry Orchard has some bitterness to it that I didn’t care for; not the case with Crispin. I will definitely be checking out more of their ciders when I can find them. This one has a 4.5% alcohol content, so don’t expect to be robbing old ladies of their marble ryes after having a few. The 4 pack was around $8.99..totally worth it. There’s a natural pear taste here, and that’s likely due to the fact that Crispin naturally ferments their cider with 100% pear juice and not some gloppy concentrate. You can taste the difference! This cider has a whole lot of nothing – no colorings, no preservatives, no additives, and did I mention no gluten? NO GLUTEN! It’s light, refreshing, and crisp, and not at all bitter in aftertaste. It’s there and it’s gone, light and airy. Really, a great compliment to any salad or light seafood meal. I think it would go great with a piece of lemon or lime meringue pie, so you could try it. And let me know how it works out. Or what you think. Because it’s divine!

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

