2013 Columbia Crest Horse Heaven Hills (H3) Cabernet Sauvignon (3 out of 5)

Standard

untitled

This is a beautiful label. I went a couple of go-rounds with Columbia Crest years ago- if memory serves me correct, it was the 2007-2009 era. My friend Matt N. was a HUGE fan. I daresay it was one of his favorites. I think. It may have been the Columbia Merlot. One of them- the Merlot or the Cab- did NOT agree with me at all. It must have been the Merlot, because here I am sipping this to try it out and I’m not projectile vomiting. That’s not to accuse the fine folks at Columbia Crest of any wrongdoing; my body has some very weird reactions to certain wines and spirits. I get violently ill with ANY chardonnay or rum. Sadly. I used to be able to drink tequila, but it also did a number on me for many years. Happily, that’s no longer the case, so Mr. Cuervo has been hanging out with me every once in a while. Reds usually don’t produce a reaction, but Columbia Crest Merlot (as I recall) made me sicker than a dog on more than one occasion. So no more of that. This wine, the cabernet sauvignon, is great. Very hearty flavors throughout. Right off the bat, you can taste overpowering black cherries and blueberries. Not so much that it overpowers the wine and its palette, but it is very quickly established that this is no cab to be fucked with. Real wine collectors and drinkers will love this one. In fact, Wine Spectator awarded it 92 points. Wine Spectator? Highly respected. If they like a wine, you’re fine. I am also fine, but it’s too much for me. I guess I’m a light cab girl after all! After it’s been aired out for awhile, you can taste currant, vanilla, and some very strong oak… and other indefinable notes that I can’t get a handle on. It’s a rich purple color and it smells absolutely out of this world when first uncorked. As I said, the flavor is magnificent and incredibly rich with flavor. However, if you’re a big wine wuss like me, this one might be a bit much to take. Especially if red wine gives you a headache, you may want to proceed with caution. Try their other fine wines. Columbia Crest is well known for their award winning wines. You can see why. Their marketing, their labels, and their product- speaks for itself. If not, there’s people like you and I to speak for them as well, and try to get people more interested in the wine. 14.5% on the alcohol content front, if you are wondering. This fine cab usually retails for $15.00 and is readily available in your standard grocery or neighborhood liquor store. Enjoy!

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

