Menage a’ Trois Silk (Soft Red Blend) 2014 (4 out of 5)

Standard

k2-_1e85ad1a-02e4-4c15-bf00-361c1727d770_v1

The Heart song “I Didn’t Want To Need You” kept going through my mind. Except I changed it to “I Didn’t Want To Like You”. I felt I was being unfaithful to the original Menage a’ Trois because this was a soft red, which is not my usual fare. I am happy to report I have been unfaithful. But it should be okay, because I stayed in the same family. Right? Right??!!!

Anyway, this one got opened last night and I had one glass while listening to David Bowie’s “Let’s Dance” album, in honor of his passing. It was very late, I was very tired, and very sad. Then I was taken over the side of something resembling happiness. Sweet, semi-dry happiness. That was due to this splendid wine. I had a boring veggie burger with some vegetables, but this did nicely. It also kept me away from the gluten-free dark chocolate toffee that my friend got me for my birthday. Bad, G, Bad (diet going on one week and I already want to cheat. I had pizza Sunday, that was my cheat day). So I really took my time drinking this and I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t extremely hearty nor super dry. It was just right. I am glad it wasn’t super sweet, which I feared with the words “Soft Red Blend” on the label. No need to worry!

This one is 13.5%, so not super industrial strength grapes at work, but enough that it makes you feel VERY relaxed after one glass. Not to the point of balloon rape or anything fatalistic, but still very good in the chill zone. The soft red blend is comprised of Pinot Noir, Malbec, and Petite Sirah. It has a lovely fragrance once uncorked, and after a hour, still pretty fragrant. Not in a stinky, vinegar way. A pleasant smell of fruits and some floral notes, and a heaping of promise. Geez, that sounds like a margarine commercial gone wrong. The tasting notes are chocolate, cherry, and raspberries. There is a strong taste of chocolate with this one. I haven’t tasted that much of a chocolate note in wine in a long time, friends. That probably helped me stay away from that alluring mistress Dark Chocolate Toffee. There’s some taste of charred something or other  (oak, cedar) in the finish of this wine, and it’s splendid. Again, not very sweet, nor very dry. It’s just right. And it’s lovely. I would highly recommend this one to someone who wants a nice, balanced glass of red, but not so virulent that you’ve got a migraine the next morning from one glass (I could write a blog on those!). So- highly recommended. I think it’s a newer wine from the Menage folks, and I can’t wait to see what they cork up next.

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a Reply

