Promisqous Wine (4 out of 4)

Standard

                                     Image

 

Last Saturday was an awful day. I had a whopper of a bomb dropped upon myself before I even left the house to go to work. Work helped, but so did wonderful friends. My friend D, who makes many an appearance here through his introducing wines to me (PS- He also gave me the suggestion of “Sipping Sentiments” for a wine blog. Huzzah), had been out of commission on his own ring in the solar system known as “No CarVille” for the past couple of months. He finally got his wheels back and informed me he had many gifts for me( Peter Torkmas, my bday, and New Years), including some wine. He wasn’t joking- this was the first of 3 new wines to try. It took me almost a whole week to drink it on and off (D and I opened this one right away. The name in itself, plus Nelly Furtado’s song, made me do so. D had a glass also).  

Promisquous has a normal label and appearance, although I would say it’s classier than some of the other wines I’ve seen lodging on Walfart shelves as of late. The fact that it was spelled wrong, well, that gave me pause, but I was so glad to see new wine that I quickly stopped caring. It is a 100% California table wine. The label gives away nothing as far as what the blend is, so I have to guess. It creates quite the sensory experience when you open it. We let it aerate about a hour, and that sucker still packed a punch as far as fragrance goes. 

First taste? Holy crap, that’s a pizza waiting for this wine. D and I had gluten free pasta with meat sauce, and it worked perfectly. Once I settled into the wine a little bit more, I spent quite a bit of time deciphering what was in it as far as taste goes. Balance is good, it’s not too vinegary, nor was it too stuffy and oaky to have a presence. It definitely has a presence. It also, unlike what the website said, is NOT a sweet wine, so that has to be the white companion to this wine that they are describing.There is definitely some super pepper and spice going on, it’s a very spicy wine. There is some cassis, there is some dark berry, although, honestly, I cannot figure out which berry or what berries that may be. It honestly shouldn’t matter so much as it is delicious!

The tannins are evenly balanced, it doesn’t long linger on the palate. It also doesn’t make you see three heads on one person’s shoulders. It packs a nice, evenly balanced tidal wave of dark berries and spice. The label didn’t say much as far as alcohol content, but it gives a nice buzz. i can say that it goes well with pasta, would likely spin with glitter disco shoes if paired with BBQ ribs, and with dark chocolate, an orgasm may be achieved. Which is really not too surprising with a Promisqous wine. 

 

About generationgbooks

I read a ridiculous amount of books in a ridiculously quick amount of time. I read everything- fiction, history, sports, political science, fantasy, young adults, kids, romance- everything. I have worked in books almost half of my life now, and I never get bored with them. I need an outlet for books, where I can reach many people who may or may not give a fig about my opinions. I'm kind of known for rambling about books, so I figure it's about time I get off my lazy ass and take it to the blogosphere, where I have had the great luck of meeting many wonderful people inflicted with this book-disease. Personal stuff? Not much. I work too much, I'm single so I have more time to deal with this and less to deal with BS. I'm a die-hard Duranie and 80's fan. I am way too entertained with social media and astrology(for those of you who give a fig, I'm a Capricorn, or the sexier description- a seagoat.) for mine and the world's- own good. Only insanity can result from me blogging. That said, here goes!

Leave a comment